Bruce Lee

I’m fascinated by martial arts. I love the lessons on discipline, practice, and perseverance. I dig the concept of belt attainment, not as a carrot, but as a marker of development. I adore how you can only become exceptional if you have an awesome team to practice and bond with, and then how you hold your opponent to the highest esteem. I see how the assessment relationship of mentor and student involves constant conversational feedback of progress. I am impressed by the concept of learning to battle but never really fighting. I’ve never broken a piece of wood with my mean chop, but, in many ways, I like to approach my vocation of teaching and learning like Bruce Lee.

And now, for your enjoyment, my favourite fight scene of all time: Bruce Lee vs. Chuck Norris from Return/Way of the Dragon.

4 thoughts on “Bruce Lee

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Bruce Lee « The Spicy Learning Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. Clored belts in martial arts were an invention to accommodate Westerners’ need for recognition of eir progress. There were originally only white and black (brown was a dirty white belt ;))

    I love your reference and analogy. Does it hold up without the intermediate belts?

Leave a Reply

