As a parent …

I love this drawing by my 8-year-old daughter Yumi. I adore the movement of the legs, as though they are made of gummy bear jelly, tangling around the bike and pedals. I dig the weirdly small wheels looking like they’re being squished. I laugh at the way my kid draws faces which exude pure happiness. The colours? Well, I totally delight in the way she is messily clean with her strokes. There’s a confidence that blows me away in her pics, because Yumi doesn’t draw for any other reason than because she loves it.

As a parent, all I want from my kids’ teacher is someone who honours this and, better yet, leverages it in my child’s learning.

You can find more of my kid’s pics at her blog: yoyoyumi.blogspot.com.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

