Teacher Call Home

Old telephoneCC licensed photo shared by macinate

Hi, it’s Mr. Lee here. I’m just calling to say hi and let you know how excited I am to be teaching your amazing kid this year.

I have just gotten off the phone after spending only about an hour calling twenty-four families of the students in my class this year. I do this at the start of every school year as I look at trust building with families as a must for the job of learning I hope to do with their children. It never ceases to amaze me how much they appreciate my little phone call. The feedback I have just received has been overwhelmingly positive and full of gratitude. The best part was that I got to have some great conversations with them about how their children learn best. Let’s not forget that the parents are the experts when it comes to their own children. If you haven’t done so already, I urge you to put aside an hour or two and call the homes of your students just to say hi.

3 Comments

  1. Royan, I absolutely love that you do this! I always phone all of my parents after the first day of school, and I continue to phone them every week or two. These regular phone calls really help build valuable relationships with parents, which, like you, I think is so very important.

    Have a fantastic year!
    Aviva

Leave a Reply

