Just post it.

clock CC licensed photo shared by svintus2010

I can’t imagine being an educator without blogging. It’s taken my ability to reflect, collaborate, and lead to another level. If you’re someone who struggles with the process, or is thinking of starting a professional reflective blog, here’s something I do that may or may not help you.

I try my best to go from birth of idea to published in as little time as possible. My ideal is 12 hours max. The longer the timespan is from spark to online, the more likely it is I will:

  • lose the reflective moment;
  • forget why the idea/message was important to me;
  • focus more on reader perception than personal reflection;
  • over-think it;
  • become paralyzed by analysis.
A blog is not the same thing as a peer-reviewed journal. It does not need to be vetted a million times. Sure, you don’t want to post in a flippant or overly impulsive manner, but it’s still important to remember that you should…
Just post it.
Time of idea: 10pm-ish, October 31 2011
Time of post: 9:16am, November 1, 2011 (on my prep at school)
Time of writing: 15 minutes.
5 Comments

Leave a Reply

