This American Life Goes to School

CC licensed photo shared by Flickr user colindunn
CC licensed photo shared by Flickr user colindunn

It goes without saying that media representations of education, schools, and the people who work and attend them leave a lot to be desired. That’s why I’m grateful for This American Life and their stories. For your listening pleasure, I’ve listed some pertinent ones below ascending in chronological order (I’ve put my absolute favourites in bold).

The Cruelty of Children: Stories of children being mean.

The Kids are Alright: Stories of kids taking matters into their own hands.

Prom: Stories of a right of passage.

Special Ed.: Stories about people who were told they were different.

Return to Childhood: Seventh grader Kayla Hernandez looks back on fifth grade.

Party School: Stories of what it’s like to go to one of America’s ‘party’ colleges.

Kid Politics: Stories of whether it would be better if kids ran the country.

Middle School: Stories of what it’s like for middle schoolers.

Back to School: Stories of those ominous first days of September.

Harper High School Part 1: Stories of what it’s like to go to a high school where 29 recent and current students were shot in the past year.

Harper High School Part 2: More stories from Harper.

Have I missed any?

3 Comments

  1. Middle School is one of my all time favourite This American Life episodes. Harper High School is heart wrenching and inspiring – not an episode I recommend for a cryer on her morning commute! When I listened to the podcast this week, I wanted to share the episode with everyone I know, so I am not at all surprised that you blogged about it. Come to think of it, there is at least one Act each week that I think is worth sharing! Thanks for highlighting the other school stories. I haven’t heard them all so I will have to go through the archives.

Leave a Reply

